Elected members of the Town Council are the policy and decision makers for the Town of Port McNeill. Current members are Mayor James Furney, Councillors Ann-Marie Baron, Shelley Downey, Leighann Ruel, and Michelle Carson. 

The administrative staff is responsible for implementing the policies established by Council.

Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at 1775 Furney Place, Port McNeill. The meetings are public and everyone is welcome. From time to time and by resolution changes to the regular Council meeting dates may occur due to Statutory Holidays, Union of B.C. Municipalities convention, and other events.

2024 Council Dates

If you wish to view an agenda for a meeting, they are ready by the Friday afternoon preceding each scheduled meeting and available at the Town Office.

If you wish to view the minutes for a meeting, they are ready by the Monday following the meeting in which they are accepted by Council.

Agendas and Minutes are also available via the iCompass platform

If you wish to attend a Council Meeting and address the Council, please notify Reception, in writing, by 4:30 pm on the 1st or 3rd Monday of the month (one week prior to the meeting). Agendas are prepared and sent on the Thursday (5 days) before the Council meeting.


What is a council portfolio?

A Portfolio Holder is a Councillor who has been delegated responsibility for specific service(s) and / or strategic issues (Portfolio) by the Leader of the Council.

Follow the link above to see the delegates from the Port McNeill Town Council! If you have any questions or concerns in these areas, these are the people who will listen to you and ensure that your voice is heard.

Mayor James Furney
Councillor Ann-Marie Baron
Councillor Michelle Carson
Councillor Shelley Downey
Councillor Leighann Ruel